Say hello to my little friends…

Well, I’ve done it again. I love learning new things and now have about 1000 new “little friends” getting acclimated in my home.

Who are they you may ask…

IMG_0587.JPG

Why worms of course!

We have a lot to learn before we get back to Alaska. What better way to figure things out than to try them out down here “in Amerika” where we still have all of our creature comforts and easy access to stores and stuff.

IMG_3249.JPG

IMG_3247.JPG

IMG_3244.JPG

Fortunately there are a lot of resources out there and I actually know people in Alaska who are raising chickens, goats and yes, even worms.

I am going to start small scale and learn as much as I can so that when we move I’ll have the basics down and will be able to focus in preparing our land and getting things set up instead of trying to figure how to “grow things”.

No time like the present.

Sometimes it seems like things come full circle. Well, not quite full circle yet but closer than I’ve been. Some time ago I dreamed about living “off the land” so to speak. I love(d) nature and getting my hands dirty. Stuff happened, things changed, and I got sucked into the world of career ladders and suits. Well, now things are circling around again and I am back to dreaming of being back with nature.

I was born in the city but have always felt more comfortable in the country. I used to like working with the soil and plants and will again.

One thing I know for sure is that life will never be the same and I have so much to learn. We are embarking on an adventure of no return. Once we set out, we won’t be turning back.

~ Molly

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in AK - Preparing for our future, Composting, Life Changes, Vericomposting, Worm Farming
One comment on “Say hello to my little friends…
  1. MECalvin says:

    Reblogged this on From our home … to yours and commented:

    I’ve been vermicomposting since just before Thanksgiving… My worms are doing well and producing nicely. I still have some learning to do but I suspect in a couple of more months to see some beautiful results.

    My mom isn’t too happy about the worm bin living in the office, but you wouldn’t even know it is there. No odor what-so-ever, and they don’t make any noise as they chomp away on the waste I add regularly.

    ~ Molly

    Like

Leave a Reply

