So… What About Those Kids? 12 You Say?

I had to chuckle the other day. Fred and I were discussing our life list and the first item he listed was that he wanted to have a dozen kids…

Well, that endeavor is completely out of the question.

First of all, I am 48 years old. Even if was capable of conceiving (which I am not) I would be way too old by the time 12 kids popped out – especially one at a time.

When I was younger, there were a few short years where I thought I wanted children. Life as it was at the time made that impossible and I will admit I am thankful for that.

It is too bad that Fred and I did not meet 20 years ago. If we had, there is a good chance that we could have had a dozen kids by now.

Well, thinking on that, we were completely different people 20 years ago, and most likely would not have even gotten together.

That goes back to our “About Page” –  we both have been given the opportunity to hit the reset button and whatever experiences we have had in the past, they are what make us who we are today.

While I have no biological children of my own, I have been blessed with two children and two grandchildren as a result of our union.

image

I love these kids – as if they were my own. They are my family now. It really can’t get any better than this.

image

Future Plans

One of our dreams is to build a canoe family. Our experience with our canoe families and the canoe life is what brought us together. It is what changed our lives.

We want to be able to give back, to help others experience the joy that we have experienced.

Fred would like to work with at-risk youth. He has a soft spot for these kids.

Maybe someday he will tell his story. It is one of the many things I love about him.

It would take a crew of 12 to paddle an ocean going canoe… Maybe, just maybe, that is what Fred meant when he said he wanted 12 kids.

If I were to have children though, I will say that I would want them to be Fred’s.

~ Molly

Tagged with:
Posted in Canoe Life, Family, Molly & Fred's Life List
One comment on “So… What About Those Kids? 12 You Say?
  1. Raven says:

    Yup a crew for a canoe !!!!! I love my kids and Grandkids to no end and am quite happy doing stuff with them . I know they would be part of our canoe to I do know between both family’s we should be able to fill one canoe just need a canoe for that I love my family to no end am greatful that I have them -Fred-

    Like

Leave a Reply

